Meet Elise

I’m currently a junior in Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh. In Uruguay, I’m going to most miss my Thoroughbred, Tiny and horse-back riding in general. I will be the Technical Lead for the Content Authoring Tool (CAT) for the iSTEP 2011 team in Montevideo, Uruguay. I want to ensure the tool is sustainable and well-tested so the teachers aren’t discouraged by a tool that doesn’t work well. I’m really looking forward to making a tool that will make an impact on the community.

I’m really looking forward to living and working abroad. I’ve studied abroad before, but I think it will be very different to be working with a government organization in another country. I’m hoping we can help them improve literacy and increase the use of the One Laptop Per Child in the classroom. I studied Spanish in high school but have since taken up Mandarin Chinese, so I’m really looking forward to (and a little apprehensive about) picking up Spanish again.

Leave a Reply

