Back from a long weekend

Fourth of July was a day off for those of us in Pittsburgh, so I went with a group of friends to visit Chicago for the first time. I have a passion for seeing new places and discovering new cultures and I  never thought that an hour flight would take me to a mesmerizing city with a rich history and breathtaking skylines. I could spend a long time describing how it felt to see the city from the Willis Tower SkyDeck and “walk on air”, or how happy I was admiring Jelly fishes in the Shedd Aquarium while being reminded that the smallest most beautiful creatures might sometimes be the most dangerous ones! That would require a longer more detailed blog post.

Back from my short trip, I feel refreshed and ready to continue my work on the Content Authoring Tool. So far, implementation has kicked in full force! In a normal work day, I might be doing one of many things such as:

  • Writing code.
  • Reusing code from the old CAT developed by the iSTEP 2010 interns. [Thank you :)]
  • Googling! [anything from: why is my page looking weird on internet explorer to how do I minimize the amount of time I have to spend on this form before it is good enough! Well not exactly but you get the idea: I could be googling anything]
  • Taking a walk outside Newell Simon: while working in the lab is great because it keeps me focused with minimum distractions, I miss sun from time to time. Occasionally, I will take a short walk outside the building or take my laptop and go work on the third floor where there are big glass windows with plenty of natural light.
  • Thinking about how I am going to finish the tool on time!
  • Talking with my teammates on Skype:  getting updates about work and life in Montevideo.
  • Thinking about how I am going to finish the tool on time!  I know I said that before but it happens more than once!
  • Having a live or Skype conversation with Meghan and yes our desks are next to each other 🙂

Thinking about the rest of the internship period, I am hoping to substitute the list above by:

  • Testing code.
  • Writing a thank you note for the iSTEP 2010 interns for their great pieces of code.
  • Writing a thank you note to Google for aggregating the information we need and making it available! [fyi: there is a whole blog post dedicated to expressing love and appreciation to Google! I might join that]
  • Taking a walk outside Newell Simon 🙂
  • Celebrating finishing the tool on time!
  • Talking with my teammates on Skype and wrapping up the work left to be done.
  • Celebrating finishing the tool on time! This also has to happen more than once!
  • Having a live or Skype conversation with Meghan, maybe not in the lab? Third floor?

If you’ve been following the journey then hang in there, great things have yet to come!

-Hanae

Leave a Reply

